Thursday, December 16, 2010

Repeal of DADT passes house!

The U.S. House of Representatives voted 250-175 to pass a repeal of the discriminatory 'Don't Ask; Don't Tell' policy enacted during Bill Clinton's Presidency. As usual, the Republican party overall reiterated their bigotry by voting overwhelmingly against repeal. However, 15 Republicans showed some rare integrity in voting for the repeal. A positive sign that there are some enlightened individuals in the party. For their efforts I think they deserve respect and perhaps support from those who support equality for homosexuals. The 15 Republicans and their residencies are as follows:

Judy Biggert-IL
Mary Bono Mack-CA
John Campbell-CA
Anh Cao-LA
Michael N. Castle-DE
Charlie Dent-PA
Lincoln Diaz-Balart-FL
Charles Djou-HI
David Dreier-CA
Vernon J. Ehlers-MI
Jeff Flake-AZ
Ron Paul-TX
Todd R. Platts-PA
Dave Reichert-WA
Ileana Ross-Lehtinen-FL

Conversely, the following 15 Democrats showed either A) cowardice, or B) bigotry by voting against repeal of DADT:

Dan Boren-OK
Bobby Bright-AL
Travis W. Childers-MS
Mark Critz-PA
Artur Davis-AL
Lincoln Davis-TN
Jim Marshall-GA
Mike McIntyre-NC
Solomon P. Ortiz-TX
Collin C. Peterson-MN
Nick J. Rahall II-WV
Mike Ross-AR
Ike Skelton-MO
John Tanner-TN
Gene Taylor-MS

I urge my friends and everyone who supports equality for homosexuals, including equality in our military, to show that support by refusing to vote for the Democrats above in any upcoming elections.

No comments: